When you go to the grocery store, you will see labels on products such as dairy-free, lactose-free, and non-dairy. They sound so similar that you may be wondering why three different terms exist. However, it is essential to understand the differences if you have dietary restrictions.
For example, someone with a milk allergy will still be allergic to lactose-free products. If you are getting into a new diet, all of these words can be confusing. Let's get into these definitions so you know what you should and shouldn't consume.
What is a Lactose-Free Product?
If you have problems digesting milk, as many people do, you may have an intolerance to lactose. Milk products contain a sugar called lactose, and the lactase in our bodies helps us break it down. (1)
Intolerance of lactose affects a person in different ways. Some lactose-intolerant people can eat yogurt or consume cow's milk in small doses. However, other people have to avoid ice cream, hot chocolate, and some types of cheese altogether.
Lactose-free products contain milk without this sugar. Companies remove it via filtration or another method to create milk free of lactose. These products get the label "lactose-free," but they are not free of dairy.
What are Dairy-Free Products?
Dairy-free products do not have any ingredients that come from milk. A dairy-free food or drink may include an alternative such as almond milk, coconut milk, oat, or soy milk. Lactose intolerant people can consume these products because they are milk-free, lactose-free.
People with a milk allergy are often averse to the milk proteins in traditional milk, such as whey and casein. A lactose intolerance symptom would be bloating, cramps, or gas. Dairy allergy health symptoms include vomiting, hives, and other reactions.
Aside from a food allergy, you may seek a milk derivative if you are vegan. Vegan consumers do not consume animal products including dairy foods for many reasons. Some children grow out of milk allergies when they reach adulthood.
Check out our full list of meal delivery services without dairy products to make things easier.
Non-Dairy vs. Lactose-Free vs. Dairy-Free
So, is there a difference between non-dairy and dairy-free? Yes. The term dairy-free is not FDA-regulated. The non-dairy label is regulated, and these non-dairy products may still contain milk protein.
So, if you have an allergic reaction to milk, you may not be able to consume non-dairy food and drink. If you are lactose intolerant, you should be fine. As with any serious allergy, you want to read the label of all of your related items to get information about the contents.
No. When it comes to lactose-free vs dairy-free, a product without lactose is not always free of dairy. There are a variety of milks made from nuts and plants that you can drink.
If you are not drinking products from cows, it is important to make sure you get the right amounts of nutrients in your diet. According to Medical News Today, "Dairy is a good source of calcium, potassium, Vitamin D, and protein." (2) Some alternatives add these benefits and prioritize nutrition.
There are some foods that are naturally low in milk sugar. These options include:
If your lifestyle calls for low lactose levels, carefully read the food labels on anything you buy. For severe issues with diarrhea or nausea, you can also try lactase tablets. Some individuals use these tablets to continue making their favorite recipes or because they like the taste of dairy.
These two terms are not interchangeable. With lactose intolerance, you can still consume products from a cow. A dairy intolerance may cause swelling, wheezing, throat trouble, or other immune system issues with cow-product consumption.
Watching What You Eat
Many adults are raising their consciousness when it comes to the way they eat. There are several diets that recommend getting rid of cow products for skin health. Fortunately, it is easy to find both dairy-free and lactose-free products such as creamers. Just be sure to read the ingredient list.